Answers to yesterday’s questions


Ok as I said I am giving the answers to yesterday’s questions, it is kind of sad that this Aussie knows a lot more about America than most Americans know about Australia, anyway here are the answers.


What is the capital of Australia?

Canberra


How many states are there?

There are 6 states, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania; we also have two territories The Northern Territory, and the ACT (Australian Capital Territory)


How many stars are on our flag?

There are 6 stars on the flag


What is the country’s largest city?

Our largest city is Sydney


Who was our first Prime Minister?

The first Prime Minster was Edmund Barton


What two animals are on our coat of arms?

The coat of arms has the Kangaroo and the Emu on it


 

23 thoughts on “Answers to yesterday’s questions

  1. We all know so much about the US because we all watch American movies and TV…seriously..that’s how I know about pleading the 5th, something you can’t do in Canada. 😉

    And that’s why I couldn’t answer your questions Jo-Anne. I mean without googling, do you know how many provinces and territories Canada has? What our biggest city is? Who our first Prime Minister was? 🙂

    • Well I know there is Newfoundland, Nova Scotia,Quebec, British Columbia and Prince Edward Island if there are any others I am clueless. I think the capital is Ottawa or something like that. I don’t know who the prime minister was and the biggest city well in Murdoch Mysteries it’s Toronto but that could be wrong

    • ok Diane, lets see I think you have 5 territories? Biggest city, Toronto? Now as much as I love Canada I would think I know more about your lovely country…I know it is time for me to visit my library or do a search google search and learn about our neighbors to the north of us and our neighbors from the other side of the world! You brought up a good point though, why don’t we get Canadian tv here? After all we love your Canadian actors!! I am sure your television has got to be better than ours.

      • Hi Patty, we have 10 provinces, 3 territories, and Toronto is the biggest city.

        I don’t know if our television is better, but we do have some good shows Patty. Still most of the shows available to us are American.

      • Someone once said to be a true Canadian you must play Anne Murray records all day…guess I am Canadian at heart!! 🙂 I saw her in person once a few years ago, she was FANTASTIC.

      • Wow I must suck at being Canadian, I’m not a big fan of hers! haha

        Maybe being a good Canadian consists in your right to pursue your dreams while respecting the dreams of others! That and love bacon, maple syrup, hockey wide-open spaces. ❤

      • Oh yea I must be Canadian at heart, eh?!! 😀 Thats funny that you are not a fan of Anne Murray – well you blew what most Americans think right out of the water!! LOL

  2. You are right, it is sad that we don’t know more about Australia or Canada. But if it makes you feel any better they are not teaching much about America anymore either in our schools. One reason I enjoy the internet I can learn about different countries and people. Thank you for this interesting lesson. I did not know that Tasmania was an Australian state, actually truth be told I did not realize you had “states”. And by the way – I like your coat of arms.

  3. Thank you, Joanne, for telling it straight — you’re right, I know very little about Australia but I don’t think it’s because I’m American. It’s probably my lack of knowledge in geography and history. They weren’t my strongest subjects in school and carried over.

    I’m glad you told us and put out this post. It was interesting and with your help I learned about your country.

Leave a Reply

