My Mother Always Says………………..

I don’t have to like them, referring to any of her children’s chosen partners one of my sisters has often asked mum and dad do you like………….insert…………..name here……………..referring to the man she is currently involved with and mum would say I don’t have to like him as long as you do and he treats you well and makes you happy then I am happy.

This is something I have carried over into my life with my own daughters sometimes I have not liked the man they have been with but I don’t say anything at the time…………why because telling my daughter that her man is a waste of space, a good for nothing no hoper, will serve no purpose it will not stop her from being with him it will only alienate her from me. So I treat their men with respect, and I am here if the bottom falls out of the relationship, sometimes I don’t know the man well enough to know if I like him or not such as Natasha’s man Jerry I know him, I know who he is but I can’t say whether I like him or not since I don’t know him that well. The same I guess can be said for Kathy’s man Michael I don’t know him either.

This is because they do not come to family gatherings and so I don’t see them very often and when I do it is only for a few minutes at a time and you can’t always judge a person when you only see them for a few minutes now and again.

In fact when my daughter was with the man I often now call “the waste of space” I never once said anything negative about him but I could see right through him from the get go but he was her choice at that time and he made her happy at the time. …………………..she saw him through rose coloured classes……………….

I think the same can go for your siblings partners you don’t have to like them but if they are who your sibling has chosen to be with then you should be supportive saying you don’t like the person serves no good it only causes problems so why do it………………………….

I have a brother in-law Ed and I have to say I love the way he loves my sister……………………………and I have a sister in-law Leigh and she is a lovely lady and makes my brother happy……my other two sisters have men in their lives that I don’t really know so I can’t really say how I feel about them but if they are who my sisters want to be with then that is fine with me……….

We need to remember we can’t live their lives for them and they can’t live our lives and who knows maybe they are not overly wrapped in Tim………………………..ok I know they all thing the world of Tim but there are still times when they are not happy with how he acts at times……………………

4 thoughts on “My Mother Always Says………………..

    • Yeah it sucks when they ask and it’s hard to lie, I am lucky that mine don’t ask often……………..and Natasha never asked when she was with the waste of space………..thankfully

Leave a Reply

